Sketch It

When I was abroad in Italy Fall 2009, I went to an antique market in Arezzo. I am kicking myself to this day for not buying some amazing fashion design sketches I saw there. My youth and naivety blocked the true value of them. Another reason to return to Italy sooner rather than later.

The sketches above are from Barbie’s New York Fashion Week catwalk debut on Saturday, February 14, 2009 at Bryant Park Tent to commemorate Barbie’s 50th birthday. Among the 50 designers who participated, the above are from Rachel Roy, Nicole Miller, Peter Som, and Tommy Hilfiger.

Source: Nitrolicious

I randomly stumbled upon the above sketches but the one on the right I happen to be very familiar with. Not sure where I originally found the sketch, but I used to practice off of her contours, trying to teach myself how to sketch bodies and clothing. Still learning…

Drawn by Bryan Hollingsworth, he summarized Milan Fashion Week 2011 with the above sketches.

Beautiful expression of color.

2 responses to “Sketch It

  1. In my long life I’ve learned if you really love it and can afford it, buy it! If you don’t you’ll regret it tomorrow.

Thank you for your comments!

