A Home’s Greatest Possessions

My dad has always quipped that I don’t have enough bookshelves in my room. And despite having a library in our home, he still says we don’t have enough bookshelves. My brothers rooms are overflowing with books. So much so that whenever I need to find a book, I know it’ll be on one of their shelves, and multiple copies worth too. While I’m a proponent for decorative bookshelves and the art of hanging paintings over bookshelves, let’s keep it simple for my pop and show some homes that put books first (while not forgetting the importance of style, of course).

Norman Foster via Architectural Digest

4 responses to “A Home’s Greatest Possessions

  1. Vardhan Patankar

    I envy you. what a privilege to have so many books to read.

  2. Ah! They are beautiful! I especially love the one that incorporates the stairs.

    I’ve always loved a good bookshelf. I must admit, it’s always been a fantasy of mine to have a library with a moving ladder on the shelves so I can swing around ala Belle in beauty and the beast. One day…

  3. Love these images. I am especially intrigued by the “rainbow” bookshelves, the room with the European fireplace in the corner and the room with the staircase going up beside the bookshelves. Can I live there, please? 😉

  4. Loved your title. I couldn’t agree more!

Thank you for your comments!

